We made no plans for Memorial Day today because Declan was on call for work and Eóin has been under the weather with a sore throat and low-grade fever all weekend. So, the day started like most days with a trip to a local coffee shop, in this case Starbucks, since all the other coffee shops were closed for the holiday. The only thing that set this morning apart from any other morning was the Elmhurst Memorial Day Parade marching past my Starbucks window while I enjoyed an iced mocha to the sound of marching bands. When it was time for me to leave I nearly had to run to my car as I saw dark grey-blue clouds approaching from the west and bright, jagged forks of lightning cutting through the dark sky. Luckily, I made it to the car and home before the downpour. I didn’t mind the rain when it came because it cooled things off a bit, bringing the temperature down from over 80 degrees to around 65 at one point, allowing me to turn off the air conditioner and open the windows. As it turned out, Declan received a call from work while I was at Starbucks and was ready to walk out the door just as I arrived home. Therefore, with Eóin sick and only able for naps and cartoons, Declan at work, and the rain lashing down, there was no option but to stay in for the day.

The rain and the cool air made me nostalgic for Ireland so, being confined to the house, I spent most of my day enjoying a newly discovered book of short stories by Eddie Stack called The West: Stories of Ireland while playing a cd of the haunting sean-nós, or old style Irish, singing of  Iarla Ó Lionáird in the background. Not your typical Memorial Day in Chicago, but a day well spent under the circumstances!

