Recently a friend in Ireland, Ruby, provided me with more information about the tradition of Pancake Tuesday, which I wrote about on the 16th of February. I thought I would share her information here so that you can have a better idea about how this day before the beginning of Lent was traditionally observed by most Irish people. Ruby says that the pancakes made on that day were made with plain flour, milk and eggs and did not contain baking powder. The batter was poured, paper-thin, to cover the bottom of an 8-10 inch skillet. So, it seems that they would be more like French crepes than the American style pancakes shown in the photograph with my earlier post. Also, instead of being served with maple syrup they were generally served with sugar or Golden Syrup, and lemon. Traditionally, the whole family would take part in the process, taking turns flipping the pancakes in the air. As the finished pancakes were piling up on a plate, they would be kept warm by placing the plate over a pot of boiling water. After all the batter was used up the family would dive in and devour these delicious treats! As I mentioned in my previous post, the single females in the family would get the first flip, with a successful flip indicating that she would marry before the following Pancake Tuesday! Based upon my ability to flip pancakes, if I had been born in Ireland I would probably still be a single woman, perhaps devoting my energy to a career and my three cats – Anton, Kate and Eóin!

Lyle's Golden Syrup - courtesy Wikipedia

Thanks for all the great information Ruby – and for reading my blog!

